King Hotel rooftop place in Dokki was the place we hang out tonight. Got to meet several people,great music and lovely conversation! Nema was there which is lovely. Am glad am getting to know her well this time around. Cairo is addictive. Nema says she hates New York but Cairo she loves despite the dirt and craziness. Its always interesting to talk to Cairo Newbies (oh my! I probably sound very professional here) well am not, just been here longer and know how things work. I guess we all have those places in our lives. Using the metro today was a menace, it was three times as jammed as it often is. Its Eid Mubarak, people are celebrating. It reminded me of Christmas in Uganda fifteen years ago, when it was all about having new clothes and getting out of home for picnics and general celebrations. It's good to see people enjoying life!
BK was asking me how on earth I manage to deal with the harassment on the streets of Cairo, I told her I often have my MP3 on, it helps to drown out what people are yelling, I thought it would be hindrance to my Arabic not being able to hear, but then am getting so much better just speaking to market people.
Tonight someone asked me about Idi Amin again, I could not bare to get into the conversation, so I just explained how I was counting how many people were asking me about Idi Amin this year, which of course am doing and wondering whether that's all there is to Uganda.
Started watching The West Wing with MO last night, it seems like one of those shows that one could easily get addicted to, am not one to love TV but this one seems great!